CODINGTON COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA

MILITARY PERSONNEL LISTED AS WAR CASUALTIES

The following names were taken from a master list of over 2,800 South Dakotans who are recorded as war casualties. The list was compiled by the South Dakota Department of Military and Veterans Affairs in Pierre and the data was obtained from several sources including: The Doane Robinson's Encyclopedia of 1925, the book "South Dakota in WWII", from the Records of the Office of the Secretary of Defense, and from information provided to us by relatives, friends, etc.

While every effort has been made to make this listing as accurate as possible, it is quite possible that there may be some errors. If you notice that our records are not correct, such as the omission of an individual's name, we would appreciate receiving copies of old newspaper articles, casualty reports, etc., so we can make the appropriate corrections.

World War I

Ernest G. Aderhold	Milton D. Fulgham	Arthur E. Shale
Wm. G. Alden	Arthur M. Hanson	Martin Shale
Daniel B. Bannister	Wm. Harding	Lloyd Short
Don Bannister	Jaems (James) T. Hurley	Jake Tolsma
Clifford Bates	Clarence Nuttring	Nyles E. Towsley
Fred Daniel Bond	Henry Krier	Chris M. Walker
Richard T. Donahue	Herman Obewauf	Walter E. Weich
Frederick B. Doran		Thomas L. Williams
John Fittie		

World War II

Arnold L. Anderson	John W. Fanset	Marshall V. Peterson
Earnest F. Arnold	James H. Fisher	George W. Potticary
Jewett A. Bale	Nickolas H. Gebhart	Arlie J. Reiterm
Paul F. Bauer	Marolo R. Godfrey	John K. Russell
John D. Bell	Arthur Gustafson	Casper H. Schmieding
John R. Bell	Jack T. Helbing	Goerge M. Scothorn
Richard R. Bergh	Milo D. Hockett	Robert W. Smith
John P. Blais	Melford M. Horton	Francis L. Steenberg
Orville E. Bodtker	Harold H. Justus	LeRoy Stokes
Elmer J. Boehnke	Richard C. Kausch	Randolph Sunset
Harold M. Brandt	Harold Keller	Lester H. Sweet
Nicholas C. Cordell	Maynard A. Lippert	James A. Tracy
Philip D. Elkins	Leo J. Michael	George W. Voelsch
Glen Erickson	Nils E. Nelson	

Korea

Stanley McConnell

Vietnam

Dean Franklin Bolhouse Michael Eugene Gearhart James Francis Haider Mark Roland Horner Charles Thomas Langefeld Richard Andrew Larson Daniel Morris Noeldner Mark E. Stoltenburg Denis James Zimprich