Fallen Heros Bridge Dedications

SD Fallen Heroes Bridge Dedications

In 2019, Governor Kristi Noem and the South Dakota Departments of Veterans Affairs, Military, and Transportation launched the Fallen Heroes Bridge Dedication Program.

This program dedicates state bridges to South Dakotans who were killed in action while serving their country or classified as missing in action. Naming South Dakota bridges in honor of our fallen gives us the opportunity of remembrance, reflection, and respect—to honor the men and women who gave their lives in service to this nation.

The Fallen Heroes Bridge Dedication Committee meets annually in April and selects heroes to honor and the bridges to dedicate that year.

Dedication of the bridges are held May through November.

South Dakota has more than 3,000 veterans that made the ultimate sacrifice. Although these heroes are no longer with us, their memories live on in the hearts of their loved ones and our state. They cherished liberty and loved freedom enough to lay down their lives to preserve our way of life.

Click here to view application form (pdf). We encourage applicants to attach as much supporting documentation to their application form.

Back to Top